Call 24 Hours For Legal Help

Indiana DUI Penalties

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation

Indiana DUI Penalties
Implied Consent Laws

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Concentration

Enhanced Penalty Blood Alcohol Concentration

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

Vehicle Confiscation

Ignition Interlock

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment

Implied Consent Laws




Have a DUI / DWI Question?



Laws requiring drivers suspected of driving under the influence to compromise to breath, blood, or urine testing for alcohol content are known as "implied consent laws." Rejection carries penalties that can include compulsory suspension of a driving license for up to a year.

Back To Top

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In Indiana, any driver with a blood-alcohol concentration - or BAC - above .08 percent is considered “per se intoxicated” under the law. Under this statute, this confirmation is all that is needed for a driver to be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

Back To Top

Zero Tolerance Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In all states, “zero tolerance laws” focal point on drivers not of legal drinking age. In Indiana, persons under the age of 21 operating a car with a .02 percent blood-alcohol level or above are subject to DUI penalties.

Back To Top

Enhanced Penalty Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In some states there is a more stern punishment for those convicted of DUI with a for the most part high blood-alcohol content at the point of arrest; this is usually .15 to .20 percent above the legal limit. Enhanced penalty laws are not utilized in Indiana.

Back To Top

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

These penalties are minimum mandatory penalties obligatory on drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration above Indiana’s maximum tolerable level of .08 percent or drivers subject to the implied consent laws (see above) for refusing to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing for blood-alcohol content.

Penalties involve suspension or revocation (meaning provisional or permanent removal) of the driver’s license by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). In Indiana, for the primary DUI offense the mandatory suspension is 90 days; for the second offense, one year; for the third offense, three years.

Back To Top

Vehicle Confiscation

The sentence of vehicle confiscation for DUI conviction – either lastingly or temporarily - is a opportunity in some states, generally for repeat offenders. This is not a penalty option in Indiana.

Back To Top

Ignition Interlock

An ignition interlock device attaches to the convicted DUI offender’s vehicle and requires the driver to perform a breath-test before the vehicle will start. While this penalty for DUI conviction is a chance in some states, this is not an choice in Indiana.

Back To Top

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment

Alcohol tutoring and prevention program, treatment for alcohol abuse, and appraisal of a person for possible alcohol or drug dependency can be required for DUI offenders in Indiana. These steps are often recommended instead of serving a sentence of incarceration or paying fines.

Back To Top

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation