Call 24 Hours For Legal Help

Missouri DUI Penalties

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation

Missouri DUI Penalties

Implied Consent Laws

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Concentration

Enhanced Penalty Blood Alcohol Concentration

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

Vehicle Confiscation

Ignition Interlock

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment



Have a DUI / DWI Question?



Implied Consent Laws


Laws call for drivers alleged of driving under the influence to admit to breath, blood, or urine testing for alcohol content are known as "implied consent laws." Rejection carries penalties that can include compulsory suspension of a driving license for up to a year.

Back To Top

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In Missouri, any driver with a blood-alcohol concentration - or BAC - above .08 percent is measured “per se intoxicated” under the law. Under this statute, this substantiation is all that is required for a driver to be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

Back To Top

Zero Tolerance Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In all states, “zero tolerance laws” focus on drivers not of legal drinking age. In Missouri, persons under the age of 21 operating a vehicle with a .02 percent blood-alcohol level or above are subject to DUI penalties.

Back To Top

Enhanced Penalty Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In some states there is a more harsh punishment for those convicted of DUI with a predominantly high blood-alcohol content at the instant of arrest; this is generally .15 to .20 percent above the legal limit. Enhanced penalty laws are not utilized in Missouri.

Back To Top

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

These penalties are minimum mandatory penalties obligatory on drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration above Missouri’s maximum permissible level of .08 percent or drivers subject to the implied consent laws (see above) for declining to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing for blood-alcohol content.

Penalties involve suspension or revocation (meaning short-lived or permanent removal) of the driver’s license by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). In Missouri, for the first DUI offense the mandatory suspension is 90 days; for the second offense, one year; for the third offense, three years.

Back To Top

Vehicle Confiscation

The punishment of vehicle confiscation for DUI conviction – either enduringly or temporarily - is a likelihood in some states, commonly for repeat offenders. This is not a penalty option in Missouri.

Back To Top

Ignition Interlock

An ignition interlock device attaches to the convicted DUI offender’s motor vehicle and requires the driver to perform a breath-test before the vehicle will start. While this penalty for DUI conviction is a risk in some states, this is not an choice in Missouri.

Back To Top

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment

Alcohol tutoring and prevention program, treatment for alcohol abuse, and judgment of a person for possible alcohol or drug dependency can be required for DUI offenders in Missouri. These steps are often recommended instead of serving a sentence of incarceration or paying fines.

Back To Top

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation