Call 24 Hours For Legal Help

Pennsylvania DUI Penalties

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation

Pennsylvania DUI Penalties

Implied Consent Laws

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

Zero Tolerance Blood Alcohol Concentration

Enhanced Penalty Blood Alcohol Concentration

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

Vehicle Confiscation

Ignition Interlock

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment



Have a DUI / DWI Question?



Implied Consent Laws


Laws demand drivers assumed of driving under the influence to concede to breath, blood, or urine testing for alcohol content are known as "implied consent laws." Rebuttal carries penalties that can include mandatory suspension of a driving license for up to a year.

Back To Top

Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In Pennsylvania, any driver with a blood-alcohol absorption - or BAC - above .08 percent is measured “per se intoxicated” under the law. Under this statute, this evidence is all that is required for a driver to be convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

Back To Top

Zero Tolerance Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In all states, “zero tolerance laws” focal point on drivers not of legal drinking age. In Pennsylvania, persons under the age of 21 operating a car with a .02 percent blood-alcohol level or higher than are subject to DUI penalties.

Back To Top

Enhanced Penalty Blood-Alcohol Concentration

In some states there is a more severe punishment for those convicted of DUI with a for the most part high blood-alcohol content at the point in time of arrest; this is commonly .15 to .20 percent above the legal limit. Enhanced penalty laws are not utilized in Pennsylvania.

Back To Top

Administrative License Suspension/Revocation Penalties

These penalties are minimum mandatory penalties obligatory on drivers with a blood-alcohol concentration above Pennsylvania’s maximum tolerable level of .08 percent or drivers subject to the implied consent laws (see above) for refusing to submit to breath, blood, or urine testing for blood-alcohol content.

Penalties involve suspension or revocation (meaning transitory or permanent removal) of the driver’s license by the DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles). In Pennsylvania, for the foremost DUI offense the mandatory suspension is 90 days; for the second offense, one year; for the third offense, three years.

Back To Top

Vehicle Confiscation

The penalty of vehicle confiscation for DUI conviction – either everlastingly or temporarily - is a risk in some states, typically for repeat offenders. This is not a penalty option in Pennsylvania.

Back To Top

Ignition Interlock

An ignition interlock device attaches to the condemned DUI offender’s motor vehicle and requires the driver to complete a breath-test before the vehicle will start. While this penalty for DUI conviction is a option in some states, this is not an option in Pennsylvania.

Back To Top

Mandatory Alcohol Education and Assessment/Treatment

Alcohol tutoring and prevention program, treatment for alcohol abuse, and judgment of a person for possible alcohol or drug craving can be required for DUI offenders in Pennsylvania. These steps are often recommended instead of serving a sentence of incarceration or paying fines.

Back To Top

Free Online DUI/DWI Case Evaluation